Die Erstbesteigung des Broad Peak 8047m durch die österreichische ÖAV Karakorum Expedition 1957 ohne Sauerstoffgeräte, ohne Hochträger, ohne Basislagerhilfe am 9. Juni 1957 durch Fritz Wintersteller, Marcus Schmuck, Kurt Diemberger und Hermann Buhl.  
Broad Peak
Expedition 1957
Golden Jubilee



Broad Peak 8047m Broad Peak 8047m news and upcoming events. Meet the team members of the Austrian OEAV Karakoram Expedition 1957 and get the latest news on Broad Peak.

Please note that our German News page has different articles.

Broad Peak - further summits: Wilco and Gerrard


(K2Climb.net) “Hey everyone this is Ryan waters calling from sunny k2 base camp,” reported FTA’s team leader. “Some news from Broad Peak for our team: Wilco van Rooijen and Gerrard McDonnell both summited on July 6 , late afternoon in deep snow conditions. They are now safely back down towards camp 3 and descending down the mountain.”

Next week, K2

“Also we have Matt and Jan who are approaching camp 4 on their summit push.”

FTA team plans to leave Broad Peak by July 13. Team members also attempting K2 shall find ABC, C1 and C2 already set up and supplied by the time they move.

According to Wilco's team, he has become the first Dutch climber to reach the summit of Broad Peak. Gerrard is just the second Irishman, the first being his team mates Mick Murphy and John Dowd - who summited on June 29, 2006 with Canadian Marcus Dell.

Dave Hancock’s Australian outfitter Field Touring Alpine has launched the first commercial expedition for both Broad Peak and K2. Although not exactly guided (each climber must be self-sufficient and decided on schedules), the team is fully supported.

The huge team consists of 25 international climbers, most of them fairly experienced in altitude and ranging from 23 to 62 years old. Some of them will attempt the double-header while others are only aiming for Broad. A few members will be climbing K2 without O2; those using supplementary oxygen be using Poisk for the climb.

Climbing team leader Jeff Justman quitted the expedition last week due to health problems. Assistant leader Ryan Water has taken charge of the team since then.

FTA's team official list of members:

Ryan Waters - Asst Leader K2-BP - Leader US
Kurt Grimm K2-BP US
Mich Murphy K2-BP Ireland
Carl Drew K2-BP US
Matthew Gardiner K2-BP UK
Josette Valloton K2 only Switzerland
Nick Barclay K2-BP Australia
Wilco van Rooijen K2-BP Dutch
Joelle Bruphacher K2-BP Switzerland
Marcus Dell BP-K2 Canada
Gerard McDonnell K2-BP Ireland
Jan Van der Meer BP Dutch
John Roche BP Ireland
Ian de Bruyn BP South Africa/Australia
Diane Walker BP South Africa/Australia
Mark Sheen BP Australia
John Dowd BP Ireland
Michael Parker BP Australia
Con Collins BP Ireland.


Autor: K2Climb.Net